Requirement to read LNs with dictionary

Just wondering at what level here + grammar level (N5 - N1) I could I start reading LNs without having to stop several times in every sentence to look stuff up ^^

I want to start reading stuff as soon as possible and dont mind looking stuff up a lot but naturally it is poinltess to start at my level since I’m still at under 100 Kanji and just started with N5 grammar so was just wondering what people think is a reasonable level to start trying to actually read things.

You don’t really need to reach a particular point to be able to read. It will be more painful the earlier you start, but you’ll also improve faster. It’s better to rip off the bandaid as soon as it doesn’t kill your motivation doing so.

But as a general rule of thumb. You might have seen the book clubs on the forum. In the Absolute Beginner Book Club there are barely any non-manga reads, since they are illustrated and that helps with filling in holes, but also conversational japanese tends to be easier than literary japanese. After that comes the Beginner Book Club, where it’s mostly harder manga, but some light novels pop up (夜カフェ as an example). One step past that (right now, there is an idea about a middle step, but anyways) is the Intermediate Book Club, where it’s mostly regular novels, harder light novels or more mature, more difficult and longer manga. Light novels generally lie inbetween these last two steps. Trying yourself out in the ABBC wouldn’t be a bad idea, there’s even one starting in a couple of weeks.

4 Likes

Well I guess it depends what you mean by “not having to stop several times”. Like do you mean you’re ok with 1 time per sentence?