Pronunciation of と (eg in とまる) [newbie]

Newbie here, but when WK pronounces とまる, I distinctly hear HO-ma-ru. Every resource I can find leads me to believe I should say TO-ma-ru, which is what I would expect.

Should I have my ears checked out, or is the “T” in Japanese と really soft?

Thanks!

1 Like

Are you referring to the vocab 止まる?

I just re-listened to the audio and it sounds like “tomaru” to me, so perhaps you’re having some other issue?

Regardless, と is definitely “to”. In my (admittedly limited) experience, I’ve never heard it pronounced as “ho”.

Yeah, the audio on the 止まる page sounds fine to me. Possible your browser isn’t playing back the file correctly?

I actually can hear what you’re talking about. I played it a few times in a row and I started to hear “homaru” also. I think it may just be either an “audio illusion” or maybe the audio is clipped too close to the start of the speaking and cuts off a piece of the t-sound.

Just wanted to let you know that you’re not losing your hearing or going crazy, unless we both are!

And I’d like to invite everyone else to open their minds when they listen to the audio and maybe you’ll hear the h sound also.

EDIT: Also could it be the speakers? I’m listening on shitty laptop speakers.

1 Like

I hear tomaru.

Edit: If I’m doing something that makes other noise (e.g. I’m wearing a hoodie right now, so if I move my head around, the sound of the hood moving right next to my ears is apparent), I’ll hear “homaru” because I suppose the other noise makes it difficult to pick up on the “t” sound. I guess just make sure your surroundings are quiet?

Didn’t someone from the staff say recently that they were going to replace all the audio? Hopefully that will help with issues like this.