Pronunciation - ~っ , う, and double kana

So. I’ve been studying Japanese for a whopping three months now, but I have a question tingling in the back of my mind.

What the heck is up with the pronunciation of ~っ , う, and double kana ??

Some days I think I understand but then others I’m completely lost. So now it’s time to clear it up once and for all.

I’m going to use the following examples -

-なかった : The negative plain past tense ending
だろう : casual assertive “right ?”
お母さん : mother

So for the itty bitty つ kana, what I’ve gathered is that it just means when you read the word you kind of cut off the length of the kana preceding it, んですか ? So のみなかった sounds more like "nominaka-ta"like you’ve choked a bit on the “ka” sound than nomina"kah"ta, yeah ?

It’s more the う and double kana sounds that mess with me. Do they both extend the sound of the preceding kana ? If so, why would you have two different ways of saying it ? And how would one then differentiate a word with no double kana sound and the mini つ ? For example, when you write out お母さん in furigana, you do おかあさん instead of おかさん - but for simplicity sake, let’s say it was pronounced as おかさん - what’s the difference between saying か and かっ ?

As for the difference between using a double kana and う, is it just you use double kana for any syllable you’re extending that isn’t お ? But then, if that’s the case, why is 通る said とおる ?

Hopefully I explained myself clearly :sweat_smile:

Side note- I also posted this in the Bunpro community, so I’m really covering my bases here :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Hello

っ is pronounced like if the next consonant was “restrained” in your throat, delaying it and making it explosive. I know this isn’t the best explanation, but…

出発しゅっぱつ is like shupppppppppatsu
日食にっしょく nisssssssshoku
学校がっこう gakkkkkkkkkoooooooo
おと oto (sound) vs おっと ottttto (husband)

あ, い an う are used to make vowel sound longer.

おばさん obasan (aunt)
おばあさん obaaaaaaaaaasan (grandmother)