People who study/studied Japanese at university

What’s your opinion on Wanikani teaching kanji in comparison to how it is/was taught on your university course?

For me, I found the Wanikani order of which kanji to teach first makes more sense than the kanji we were expected to learn first in class. For example, having to learn 食、飲、眠、勉強、歳、曜 quite early on in order to just describe a day, or yourself. We also have to learn to write them, obviously, which isn’t necessarily obligatory here.

I am grateful for my uni studies, I’ve learnt a lot more than I expected I would, but sometimes relaxing on Wanikani is just more effective at making the kanji stick. I’m still a noob though haha

Darn it took a while for me to remember how to count days/things…

4 Likes

They complement each other. I find it useful to learn everyday kanji like 食、飲、曜 before I started WK. 眠、勉強、and 歳 are probably not necessary for absolute beginners, though.

I like that I can learn grammar through my uni course and simultaneously I can learn kanji at my own pace via WK. [I’m not a uni student but the Japanese course is at a university so I call it uni course]

3 Likes

The main difference between the traditional approach to teach kanji and Wanikani’s approach is very simple: the former teaches through recall (from memory, you’re able to reproduce the kanji aka handwriting) while the former teaches through recognition (visualize the kanji and identify it).