Overwhelming

First post here but I’ve been learning Japanese for a few months now and I’m starting to feel overwhelmed so my question is this:

How do you manage all the different resources available and not get overwhelmed?

For instance, I’ve been self-studying Genki I and reviewing/practicing twice a week with an iTalki teacher twice a week.

For the vocabulary, I use Anki which has greatly increased my ability to retain the words and has given me a solid footing. But now I’m also using WaniKani, which is great because I’ve always struggled a bit with Kanji but in addition, I’m learning even more vocabulary which is awesome until I try to use it and I use it completely wrong or something.

And now in addition to studying Genki, Anki, and Wanikani, I read about Bunpro and was like, whoah this is awesome too but again, it’s teaching me things that Genki hasn’t taught me yet.

This feeling was hard to articulate in words but basically I’m wondering, how can I tie it all together without feeling like I’m being pulled 50 different ways? I appreciate any feedback

12 Likes

I try to come up with a regimented schedule. Otherwise, yes, it will be quite easy to get overwhelmed.

5 Likes

Usually, it’s a matter of organizing things better and making different things into priorities in different days. For example, you could study grammar on the days where you have more free time, allowing you to focus more on the SRS tools on the other days.

A quick tip: you can use Bunpro together with Genki. Go to bunpro, click on “grammar”, and check the section “Paths”. It has Genki in there.

It displays a list of grammar points in the order that they show up on Genki. This way, you could do your normal workload on Genki, go to that “Path”, and add the grammar points you just learned from genki. You can even do the extra reading of the grammar points (in different days if needed, to not make it overwhelming) that Bunpro gives, as a reinforcement of knowledge.

14 Likes