なぜ?どうして?科学のお話 / Absolute Beginner Bookclub

Welcome to the なぜ?どうして?科学のお話 2年生 Reading Group! We read this book one page per day, from Feb 1st to July 24th 2020. We shared our translations and asked and answered questions about the book on the threads linked below.

We read this as part of the Absolute Beginner Book Club. Click here to visit the Absolute Beginner Home Thread and see what other books we have read, and what we are reading now!

(I finally got around to creating the official thread, yay!)

This is another book from the なぜ?どうして?series, so if you’re not sure what to expect, have a look at the せかいはふしぎ thread. As both of these books are designed for second-graders, the levels should be fairly similar. You can also check out the preview on Amazon.

The theme of this なぜ?どうして?book is science – human body, living creatures, space and more! :ear: :raised_hand_with_fingers_splayed: :monkey: :parrot: :cactus: :coconut: :ringer_planet: :crescent_moon:

If you’re new to the Absolute Beginner Bookclub, joining the reading group is really simple – just grab a copy of the book (print or digital) and start posting in the thread (respecting the schedule)! Feel free to post any questions, translations or comments regarding the page currently being read, or any of the previous (already-read) pages.

In the wise words of @marcusp: If your Japanese is beginner level, you want to read a real book, and you like learning about the world, this is the place for you!

Reading Schedule

Section Starting page Reading dates Discussion thread
からだのお話 p. 8 (old) / p. 16 (new) Feb 1 – Mar 2 link
生き物のお話1 p. 42 (old) / p. 50 (new) Mar 3 – Apr 5 link
生き物のお話2 p. 78 (old) / p. 86 (new) Apr 6 – May 4 link
食べ物や身近なもののお話 p.108 (old) / p. 116 (new) May 5 – Jun 8 link
地球・うちゅうのお話 p. 144 (old) / p. 152 (new) Jun 9 – Jul 16 link
Additional Spreads (optional) pp. 2-9 (new version only) Jul 17 – Jul 24 link
Wrap up & Final comments Jul 17 link
Weekly progression overview