Nintendo 3DS Dragon Quest and Early WK Learning

Game-heavy, long-winded first post incoming!

Hi all - I am a recent convert to WK. My backstory is a pretty familiar run-on sentence - over 20 years ago I studied a little bit of Japanese in college, managed to get into JET after graduation, stayed in Japan teaching for about a year, only learned about 400 or so Kanji (poorly) by repetition but spent lots of time chatting in Japanese at bars (priorities), came back home and scored a few jobs that utilized the conversational/casual Japanese I learned, traveled to Japan several times for work over a 2 year period, got a job in the gaming industry with a non JPN company, never used my Japanese at all for over a decade, then woke up one day and realized I had forgotten everything and wanted my skills back (and then some).

I am still very much a beginner, but I have a good idea what I am in for from past experience and community postings (pain mostly, lots of pain).

So on to the gaming stuff - I am posting this as a kind of yardstick for myself and anyone else that may be in a similar situation and curious about how far along WK can get you as a refresher/tool for reading comprehension. I am lucky enough to have a few useful tools at my disposal from when I attempted (and failed) a re-immersion about 8 years ago - mainly a JPN 3DS. For this post, I am comparing my comprehension of Dragon Quest games on that system.

8 YEARS AGO:
8 years ago, I played through the entirety of a game called Dragon Quest Monsters: Terry’s Wonderland (ドラゴンクエストモンスターズ テリーのワンダーランド3D). At the time, I was attempting to learn with Anki decks and RTK. I found RTK to be a slog, even when combined with Anki, and I had a very difficult time coming up with my own mnemonics. I was frustrated with Heisig’s recognition-but-not-reading method of study (I get it works for many, it just didn’t get me hooked). I wasn’t seeing enough of the pay-off early on to keep my learning dopamine rush.