Netflix in Japanese

I am currently in NZ and so have mainly English language programmes on Netflix. Of course I do have and watch Japanese programmes (mainly Anime) on Netflix.

Oddly I recently changed to Japanese audio and subtitles on one Anime (Dragons Dogma) and then found that Japanese had become the default language for everything else, even for non-Japanese stuff such as Enola Holmes or Teen Titans Go!

Before Japanese was not an available language option for anything not originally in Japanese. It is a bit weird but brilliant as can now watch stuff in English but with Japanese subtitles (when watching with my daughter).

Watching in Japanese/Japanese is still a huge challenge. Pretty depressing after three years. Was watching a programme on Tacos in Spanish with Spanish subtitles and comprehension was about 95% (just the odd word here or there I didn’t know) yet watching Japanese it is probably only 25% at best even though I have been studying Japanese for three years and put in much more effort than I ever did for Spanish. Of course, if I freeze the screen and take time to read the subtitles (and check up words) I can pretty much understand it but that is poor progress after such effort.

2 Likes