Neologisms in the Japanese Language

Since I am still a bit of a newbie when it comes to Japanese, I wanted to confirm something I have discovered since I started using WaniKani:
These words are only tagged as “common word” on jisho.org, and a thing I noticed was that these words are often made up out of kanji that are commonly taught.

So I wanted to ask: Does this apply to commonly used words in general, especially with those scary kanji monsters with 4 to 7 characters? If so, when forming new words, do Japanese people focus on the meaning of the kanji and derive the readings from there, or do they start from readings and retrofit kanji to their reading needs?

2 Likes

My guess is that meanings come first and then the readings are derived from the onyomi readings of the individual kanji like in your example or 飛行機. But one exception is ateji since there the meaning of the kanji is irrelevant: 当て字・熟字訓・義訓 - Grammar - Kanshudo

3 Likes

Jisho takes it’s data from JM Dict, which has this to say about its commonness markers:

The ke_pri and equivalent re_pri fields in the JMdict file are provided to record information about the relative commonness or priority of the entry, and consist of codes indicating the word appears in various references which can be taken as an indication of the frequency with which the word is used. This field is intended for use either by applications which want to concentrate on entries of a particular priority, or to generate subset files. The current values in this field are:

1. news1/2: appears in the “wordfreq” file compiled by Alexandre Girardi from the Mainichi Shimbun. (See the Monash ftp archive for a copy.) Words in the first 12,000 in that file are marked “news1” and words in the second 12,000 are marked “news2”.