My mindset, LVL 15

I’m going through basic Japanese grammar guide, that banana-slug-yellow book. I’m studying verb endings, mainly by rote. Doing the WK, which I feel complements the grammar by adding, at the very least, some level of familiarity with the sounds of the language. By that I mean, I guess a reasonably good instinct for pitch accents, expecting small っ in a word before seeing it, stuff like that. That’s probably the most exciting is that I feel at the stage I’m at: wisps of instinct creeping in, something so much more valuable than just basic understanding.
Also, I want to express the value of spacing your learning whilst changing things up. Sometimes I feel like spending time away from all the info I just read, and then retreading, and then occasional forays and overreaches into super complex stuff that I don’t understand, then back to basics. WK taught me this.
Concurrently : Sort of like the linguistic version of the Arnold approach to bodybuilding, shock the muscle, do unexpected things. Watch a whole show without subs and just revel in understanding two words. Try reading novels in J that you know really well in your mother tongue.
Anyways I’m feeling good about this mixed approach and doubt I’m an innovator, just want to share the idea. Do something different as often as your able, using WK and texts as a sort of framework to hold it all together. Don’t rely on texts alone. But use them. School kids somewhat learn by rote, and they learn other stuff by joking around in the hallway. Try to simulate a mixture of both. I think that this is called “exploratory” learning.
Us self-learners would kill for some immersion, some real conversations, but I think you have to simulate the unpredictability of life as best you can and thread it into the 学ぶ book stuff. Shock your brain into believing it needs this language.
Sorry if it was ranty. That is all! Keep up the good work, you’re all doing something most people don’t have the courage to even try!