Morgan’s study log 📖

Hi everyone,

I just discovered Wanikani about a week ago. I registered January 5 and started learning the radicals. I didn’t even know these existed, haha.

I have been watching anime since I was about 12 so I have learned some words by hearing over the past 17 years. I started learning Japanese on my own a few times, with books where I started transcribing the words to romaji and all and I liked it but long-term the kanas just didn’t stuck in my head. I had been trying to study some with Duolingo on and off the last year, but I had the same issue. Short term I would remember the hiragana it taught but long term, not so much. Now with the new hiragana-only lessons I felt more progress but I figured I would need to take real lessons or start learning how to write for it to stick. Then a few weeks ago I looked up some of my fave manga scanlator group’s site where they talked about self studying the language and mentioned Wanikani. I thought I’d give it a try. Then I found the link to tofugu’s hiragana guide and my life changed!

Today (January 12) I learned the last of the main hiraganas and I can confidently recall them on the quiz. I even tried some Duolingo lesson and I could do them with so much more confidence :slight_smile: I even managed to read some manga titles with minimal help and it made me so happy. I really doubted mnemonics would be something that could work for me, but here we are barely a week later. Now I feel really hyped to actually, seriously start to learn the language! I am following some of the tofugu guides and considering what kind of books to get later on. This will be my little log to track events and self-motivate. Any suggestions are welcome and I’d love to make some friends on this journey :slight_smile:

Goals for the month:

• learn the combined hiraganas
  • start the Wanikani kanji lessons
  • make more notes in my notebook
  • practice a bit on Duolingo
10 Likes
  1. january 12
    Japanese text: exists