Maulrus' Study Log

So, I heard that starting a study log is what all the cool kids are doing and thought I’d start one myself.

Learning Diary:

Before WaniKani

About one and half years ago I started learning Japanese. I starting memerising Hiragana and Katakana (although I wouldn’t fully know it for another half a year). After that, I started going to a Japanese language school and going through Genki, doing flashcards, etc. All of the traditional things one does to learn a new language. I didn’t make any headway for a long time, partly from a lack of decent tuition from the language school, and partly from a lack dedicated time.

About nine months in of accomplishing very little, I started getting fed up of struggling through every single class. I began doing a lot more independent studying outside of the language school (which I should have been doing first). Around this time, I was able to properly learn how Japanese grammar worked. Then, after another three month I found Tae Kim’s Grammar Guide. This was revolutionary for me; I was finally able to take my Japanese above simple sentence structures and on to far more complex reading.

It was also around this time that I realised the language school was useless. Genki did not work for me whatsoever, and at this point it was online due to COVID-19, so I couldn’t really get the fun culture aspects of it anymore either. I decided to try out other tutors online and found one who was far better for my learning style and left the language school.