Longtime Japanese Learner and Multilingual Mama begins WK for 1st time (Study Log)

Some background:

I started learning Japanese in college in fall of 2011. I have actively studied and been in pursuit of Japanese fluency for 5 of these years now. I completely dropped off the Japanese study map after 2 years of college study, but that did include a semester abroad in Osaka.

I’m now a mom of 2 and pregnant with our third (due summer 2021). I decided when I was pregnant with my first kid that I wanted to raise them multilingually, which had always been a pipedream of mine (actually, I figured I’d marry somebody with a different language background, but the one I fell in love with is just a plain old native English speaker like me). We are raising our kids with French and Japanese in an English-speaking community in the US. I rotate languages with the kids on a weekly basis, speaking exclusively French with them one week, then exclusively Japanese the next week. I’m only 3.5 years in, but so far this has actually WORKED!

Now, keep in mind that I hadn’t studied Japanese in 4 years, really hadn’t touched it, and that I had only 2 official years of study under my belt before that (I had failed the JLPT N3 and that basically spelled doom for my study motivation). The first year with my first kid was a huge learning curve for me (and that’s an understatement)! I had to talk to them all the time or they wouldn’t learn to speak, right? So I just fudged my way through and learned how to say what I needed to say in pretty broken Japanese. I have taken Italki lessons for the past 3 years on a regular basis and my Japanese speaking, grammar, and listening skills have gone way up! I studied for and passed the JLPT N3 test in December 2019!