Let's celebrate digging out of review holes!

I just hit 0 reviews after three weeks of digging myself out of an 2,100 review pile from 9 months of not studying (new mom)! I can’t believe this day is finally here! The biggest review hole I’d dug myself out of before this was 800.

What helped me:

1. Because it’d been SO long since I studied I went back to the last level where I hadn’t burned a radical. That meant going back three levels & dropping about 300 reviews. I figure I haven’t learned those ones as well anyway even before I took a break so I might as well go back through the lessons.
  2. Used the WaniKani Reviews by ID-ish script to order kanji & radicals to the front. Review those first & then kick but on the vocab later with all those fresh kanji.
  3. Daily practice!

What’s the biggest review hole you dug yourself out of? What helped you dig yourself out?

19 Likes

Congratulations on acquiring a new parent! (冗談!赤ちゃんが生まれておめでとうございます!)

Good work on getting those reviews back down. My biggest backlog was about 300. Mostly because of slight WK burnout/low motivation.

10 Likes

I don’t remember.

@plantron 先輩 advices. @MissMisc memories. And others.

3 Likes

congrats!!! on being a mamma and digging yourself out of the review pile up, 2000+ would scare me!:fearful:

1 Like

Just now dug myself out of a pile up, resisted going back levels (did that on a previous occasion and was keen to avoid doing that again) but shifting those 500+ reviews and 90+ lessons took quite a while and I had forgotten so many!! It was so good to get back to Zero​:grin:.:tada:
Now off to tackle my Kaniwani pile up😕…

1 Like

About 2800

2 Likes

08%20AM

Oh. Not so fast. Working on it.