Learning vocab and grammar?

I don’t like textbooks, but I do understand grammar somewhat. I’m using Kamesame to supplement vocab and joined the Absolute Beginners Book Club. I’m also watching Japanese Ammo with Misa on YouTube for grammar tips. Am I doing okay?

4 Likes

All you need really is:

1. Some sort of kanji study.
  2. Vocab SRS.
  3. Grammar
  4. Immersion.

Kanji you got WK.
Vocab, you got anki and kitsun (10k vocab decks, sentences are decent).
Grammar, just check up all the grammar points, starting in JLPT order is usually the easiest. Wouldn’t stress it too much, just be aware of them and know what they mean and quickly move on to the other grammar points. Immersion will sort through everything eventually and you’ll truly understand the grammar points.
Immersion, self explainatory. The more, the better.

sounds like you’re doing good!

If you want more active practice, I recommend keeping a journal in Japanese, writing a few sentences a day; it helps you see what grammar and vocab words might be good to look up. Also you can post it on iTalki or HelloTalk or the like and have it corrected by native speakers

1 Like

It is something you should answer by yourself :wink:
More seriously, there are many different ways to learn a language. My point is, as long as you learn grammar, vocab and so on, no matter how you do it, it´s good.
For example, in my case, I study grammar with a book and a teacher on Italki. She spends time to explain everything in Japanese so I really understand and we make some examples so I can get the nuances. I then use the book for reviewing. My brother prefers to do free talk and when he encounters something he can´t say or understand he learns grammar with his Asao teacher. Both are working.