Learning strategies for weekly practice?

Hey y’all!

I was wondering if any of y’all have good strategies for practicing/learning Japanese if you can only practice once or twice a week. I’ve been using WaniKani for the past 3 months and over the summer when I could practice daily it was going really well! However, now that I am back at college and working two jobs, I really only have time to practice on the weekends – which of course means that I have over a hundred reviews waiting for me by that point.

I know there have been a lot of strategies posted for daily practice, but do y’all have ideas for regular, once-per-week practice? I’m in no particular rush to get to a certain point with Japanese, so I am comfortable taking it in at a slower pace, but I do want to keep practicing consistently.

Thanks!

5 Likes

I would recommend getting some textbooks that cover grammar/vocab and doing a chapter or a set amount of lessons (depending on how the book is structured) each week. This way the book structure helps keep you on track. I would also set aside a little time to refresh what you did the previous week before doing the new stuff, to get some of that spaced repetition in.

2 Likes

Might not be what you wanna hear but once a week is gonna be real tough. I suppose you could read graded readers and eventually native material and study grammar on the side but it’s going to be slow. Because of this, I recommend finding time to SRS even with work and all that. I’m unemployed now, but during my last job’s lunch break I would knock out a few hundred words after eating lunch. You got a busy schedule but optimizing your schedule like this would be a huge help.

4 Likes

For a roughly weekly schedule, I’d second the advice regarding textbooks. Genki and Tobira would be the most common recommendations. If neither of those appeal to you, there are a ridiculous number of learning resources available these days: Japanese Language Resources Database