Learning Japanese with Hearing Loss

Hi there, I think this is my first time posting in this wonderful community.

Let’s get straight to it: I’ve suffered from hearing loss since birth which causes me to be unable to properly distinguish sounds like f, sh, th among others with high pitches. This has always caused me problems in my first language, although recently I’ve been able to access hearing aids which help a lot.

Even with hearing aids however, I’ve been having a terribly difficult time distinguishing sounds in Japanese when listening without subtitles. (Although I do recognise that Japanese is a difficult language to listen to for native English speakers without hearing loss).

Anyway, what I’m wondering is: is there anyone else out there in a similar position who might like to share their experience of learning a language with hearing loss?

Also, am I doing the right thing in learning a language with this setback, or is it a futile endeavour? (I realise this is a silly question, but I think I need a little more confidence).

Thanks!! :smiley:

19 Likes

I don’t have hearing loss, but I imagine that the more you listen, the more you are able to distinguish sounds from what you hear, and the more you are able to understand from context. If you understand most of a sentence, you can guess what the missing words are. I imagine that’s what you do in your first language too, even if you don’t think about it? Even with normal hearing, I do this a lot, both in my native languages and in foreign languages. And if I guess wrong and say something strange, then I laugh and move on!