Learning Japanese and Mandarin simultaneously. Advice?

I just started learning Japanese online about a week ago, and so far I’m really loving it. I’m much more passionate about it than other languages I’ve started and ultimately dropped. Unfortunately I’m doing this while taking mandatory classes on Mandarin (which I have been doing for quite a few years now). There are some aspects of previous knowledge of Mandarin that are helping me, like the concept and meaning of many radicals and some Kanji, but there are also things negatively impacting my ability. Mainly, Having to remember the Japanese Onyomi / Kunyomi, as well as pinyin in Mandarin. (Simple example: 一 is ‘いち’ in Japanese, while ‘yī‘ in Mandarin.) I would much rather be only studying Japanese, though isn’t possible in my current situation. I’d be very grateful if anyone who has done/is doing the same thing, or anyone with general advice on how to not get confused between the two while still succeeding could offer something on it!

All your responses are appreciated,
-A

2 Likes

Hello and welcome.

I have not studied your particular combination of languages (I learned French) so I will keep this short, but essentially confusion will happen, it is a natural part of the process as your brain takes all this information in and learns where to store it. The more exposure to each language, the better your brain will get at bundling new info in the appropriate area and linking it to learned info in the same language. That said, despite French and Japanese being quite different languages, I would/will occasionally have the wrong language pop out when I got stuck for a word in either language (the not-so-bad burden of developing multilingualism).

All the best with your studies.

1 Like