Learning from Videogames from the start

Hi there,

I would love to ask you all a simple question:
Is learning from videogames a good idea when you start japanese?

I’m studying from: Genki I; WaniKani, Shadowing and flash cards.
If I’ve free time on the weekend, is playing something like Persona 4 in Japanese a bad idea for beginners?

What I mean for playing:

• Sit at my desk
  • Grammar book
  • Jisho
  • Notebook
  • Look for grammar unknown
  • 30 minutes

Why I’m wondering about this?
I totally learned english with videogames (I’m not a native). When I was 13 I was able to play videogames in english, also the harder one, using the dictionary here and there. At the start I was not even able to recognize “Start”, but with a lot of patience I mastered the videogames world in english.
Learning basic grammar became very easy.

Just by studying from english stuff, I’m having not a good time with japanese.
I think that studying japanese without thinking in japanese is slowing me down so much!

I’m curious about your idea of playing videogames in japanese… someone tried it?
It worked?
Pros?
Cons?

Thanks a lot mates!
Have a wonderful day!

4 Likes

First of all. Why not just try it and see if it works for you! :slight_smile:

My personal experience is that in the beginning it’s difficult because you haven’t really wrapped your head around the grammar yet.

Looking up grammar points doesn’t necessarily make you understand native-targetted sentences. There’s often a lot to unpack and every thing you have to look up adds uncertaintly, eventually that uncertaintly is big enough that you just can’t really be sure what it means.

At least for me, in the beginning, I would often fail to comprehend sentences and then when I came back months later I realized I “knew” both the words and the grammar points, but I just had to have more actual practice on easier things.

That said, again, why not just go ahead. You’ll notice quickly if it works or not I think!

10 Likes