Keeping fresh on Kanji after WK

So I just managed to do the math and I’m probably going to be done with WK sometime this January or February. So that’s pretty exciting. Problem is, I didn’t commit to the self study I was doing when I started WaniKani, I started studying it at University. They stuck me right in a first year Japanese course since in my year of self teaching I didn’t get any opportunities for conversation practice (even if I read the whole textbook). So I’m learning pretty basic Japanese right now in a class which uses Kanji, but not very many of them.

It finally occurred to me that if I just keep in my current trajectory for learning Japanese in school, I won’t be using anywhere near all the Kanji I learned on WK for several years, probably not till my forth year or even out of college completely. And there’s that whole “use it or lose it” deal with memory. So I’m very worried about forgetting most a lot of them. Because my grammar isn’t at super high a level, I’m not all that comfortable reading books, and the ones with grammar simple enough for me to get don’t use much Kanji (which is the part I actually want).

I really don’t want to have to reset WaniKani. It might be just because right now I’m pulling about 300 reviews a day (sitting on 30 as I’m writing this and will have 180 in the next 4 hours), but it just sounds so exhausting to have to do the entire thing again. I’m beyond grateful for the service and glad I’ve made it this far, but again? That sounds awful. But I’m really worried about forgetting a lot of kanji. My school teaches about 150 kanji a year, so what I’ll learn at school won’t make up for what I might forget if I don’t find a way to practice.

Anyone have any advice? I wouldn’t say it’s super urgent but it’d be nice to have a sort of plan for what to do after.

6 Likes