Happiness Volume 1 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

Welcome to volume 1 of the Happiness Book Club!

We read volume 1 of this manga as part of the Absolute Beginner Book Club, between March 5th and May 6th 2022.

To read more volumes, check out the Happiness Reading Club, kindly set up by @msbrown, where they are planning to complete the series.

Links to digital sites for purchase/preview. From time to time volumes 1-3 have been offered for free on several of these sites:

Digital: BOOK☆WALKER | BookLive! | ebookjapan | Kindle

Summary

Makoto Okazaki is your run of the mill high-schooler, a perfect bullying target. One night, on his way to return a DVD to a friend, he notices a person on a nearby rooftop. The person lunges at him and bites his neck, drinking his blood. The attacker, a beautiful girl, then asks him: “Do you want to die or become like me?” He decides to live…

Who should join

We’re reading this as the Absolute Beginner Book Club. This book club aims to help readers who are new to native Japanese content successfully read their first book. It will be helpful if you have completed the first volume of a beginner Japanese textbook such as Genki 1 or Japanese for Busy People. That’s around the standard required to sit JLPT N5.

If you’re not at that level yet but interested in reading along you are still very welcome to join. You might need to look up more vocab and grammar, but we try to help each other by compiling a shared vocab list and answering each other’s questions. This is probably one of the most approachable books we’ve read in the Absolute Beginner Book Club in terms of difficulty.

How it works