Japanese - going circles again and again

Hi there,

To make a long story short: I’ve been learning Japanese for four years at university and almost passed N2 exam. I graduated from uni 3 years ago. However, I do not use Japanese language daily and only from time to time, like once in a couple of months, I try to refresh my knowledge. But every time I have to go through the same grammar and kanji again and again (because I forget everything); I start from N5 every time because I forget even such easy things.

And now I’m going to start working on this seriously (I need it for my business), but when I think that I have to go through the kanji books, Minna no Nihongo and all that stuff one more time - I’m ready to give up.

Do you have any resources or tips and tricks to revamp Japanese skills?

It would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers!

6 Likes

Hey @Termea,
Welcome to the forums!

What kind of Japanese usage are you hoping to get? for example - Being able to write or read emails / essays / business briefs, conversational (business vs. casual), teaching Japanese to other learners, etc? Depending on what is the most important part is, there may be some shortcuts for you.

Like you said, if you don’t use, it starts to go away, so the best plan of action is to never stop using it.

:busts_in_silhouette:In my neighbourhood, the university and the community center (community learning) have meetups open to the public to practice different skills - some are for reading (they actually sit together and read through newspapers & magazines together), composition (a retired teacher volunteers his time to correct short essays on weekly topics), and there’s another that do conversation practice over sushi dinner once a month.

:telephone_receiver:If you are somewhere remote, or someplace with not many other Japanese learners, there are practice groups that do online meetups via video chat.