Is there a usage difference between 早速 and 今すぐ

I’m trying to understand the differences between 早速 and 今すぐ. They both seem to mean ‘at once’, but is there a difference in context or where they’d be encountered? Which to choose, when? Is one more temporal, and one more urgent? Feeling dumb right now.

1 Like

To my knowledge, they’re interchangeable. But 今すぐ has more of a “right away” or “asap” connotation while 早速 is more of a “this instant”. I’m no expert, but this is what I was led to believe.

What’s the difference (in English) between “right away” and “this instant”?

2 Likes

“Right away” is as soon as you can reasonably do so, while “this instant” is drop everything and do it immediately.

4 Likes

If we’re looking at literal translations, 今すぐ is the one that seems closer to ‘this instant’ since is translates as ‘now, right away’. 早速 combines the two characters that mean ‘early’ and ‘fast’. すぐ also has connotations of directness or immediacy in a spatial sense e.g. すぐ隣りに (right beside/next to), which is reflected by its kanji form: 直ぐ, with 直 meaning ‘straight’ (in Mandarin, anyhow), and thus expressing directness. I think すぐ emphasises immediacy, whereas 早速 emphasises speed. That’s what Japanese dictionary definitions seem to suggest. However, すぐ does come up in the definition of 早速, so they are likely nearly interchangeable.

I suspect that the primary difference is that 早速 is more formal. I believe it can be used in business emails. The 大辞林 example sentences seem to include a fair amount of keigo and all seem to involve superior-subordinate, client-service-personnel relationships, whereas すぐ is an everyday word.

今すぐ can only be used if you’re talking about literally right now. As in, the moment you say it.

早速 can be used to refer to any point of time. “As soon as the goods are back in stock, we’ll immediately let you know.” Obviously using 今すぐ would be wrong in this case because the goods aren’t in stock now.