Is there a good way to train the vocabularies?

howdy, i am very new to wanikani and already have a question for the further weeks. i know wanikani is for learning kanji in first place, but i’d love to learn how to use them, too. so when i learned my first vocabularies, i already had the problem that i had no idea how to use them. for example if i want to ask how big the population of japan is.
i know the kanji for japan (日本), population (人口) and big (大きい). but i have no clue how to build the sentence.

is it a good step to learn japanese by just learning the kanji and vocabularies without context, or should i start learning grammar very early so i can use the words? i’m sorry if this was already asked.

One problem that you’ve run into right off the bat is that in Japanese, they don’t use the word 大きい to talk about population. A population is 多い (many) or 少ない (few). That problem (of direct translations not working out so great) will happen a lot in the course of your studies.

Unfortunately, WK won’t teach you how to use the words you learn, just how to read them and the core meaning.

Something like a textbook can guide you through the basics in a structured way, even though that might be a bit boring.

5 Likes

hello @Leebo ! thank you very much for you fast answer! it’s already very useful to know, that i have to take care what words i can use for certain situations! can you recommend me a textbook? i heard that genki is quite good, but also designed for students. so i’m not sure if it’s also helpful for a self learner ;_;

Sadly the nuance of words is skipped in WK… The best way to get that is by input (reading/listening) or monolingual dictionary, but it might be a bit early for that.

You should start working on grammar early if you want to know how to use words. Tae Kim is a really good place to start.

1 Like

There are sentences in vocab items. They’re too complicated for first levels but better than nothing imo.

2 Likes