Interesting Experience

I’ve been studying Japanese for ~2 years now, and in that time I’ve primarily focused on kanji learning, reading, and grammar, casual listening practice, and not much speaking practice

I’ve been using HelloTalk off and on to intermittently chat with natives, but I’ve yet to have had an on-the-spot conversation either through a voice call or face-to-face, I’ve pretty much only ever had conversations talking to myself during commutes and such :upside_down_face:

Well, something amazing happened this weekend and I still can’t really believe it – I met some Japanese natives who live in the area and don’t speak English, and I was able to have a lengthy conversation lasting for well over 30 min with them! I didn’t really know what to expect after initially asking them if they’re Japanese, but I was somehow able to find all the right words and actually speak/understand/respond fluently, I think I was as shocked as they were :see_no_evil:

In addition to all the 上手s I got, I also ended up exchanging numbers with one of them for further language exchange and possible event meetups with other Japanese people they know ^^ they were very kind and encouraging, it was a huge confidence boost for me, especially because there are still times where I come across things and feel like I know nothing :hear_no_evil:

(Also, shoutout to WaniKani + Kaniwani for all the vocab words I was able to miraculously remember while I was speaking :high_touch: it certainly helped increase the depth of conversation we were able to have)

I suppose the moral of this story is that you may have (a lot) more latent knowledge than you think/give yourself credit for, and if the opportunity presents itself to test your Japanese, take it! You never know where it may lead :durtle_the_explorer:

Thanks for reading c:

104 Likes

Thanks for writing this and for being awesome c:

6 Likes

5 Likes

chiya

That’s amazing. Good job Misky!

2 Likes

y-you’re amazing!

Thanks broxie c: