Institutional subscription for universities

As a student, I was wondering—Koichi and the rest of the Tofugu team, have you guys thought about some sort of an institutional subscription option that universities could buy and give access to their students? At least in the US, there are funds for such things, and might help some students save some money!

3 Likes

I guess they’re trying to improve the system so that they can go scaling after. I know nothing about computers, but the API v2 seems to be a proof of my argument o:

This would be great for language schools. If someone could design a well integrated course with a focus on grammar and conversation while letting WK handle kanji and a large part of vocab, I’d pay for that.

3 Likes

If someone wants to do this your best bet is probably to email hello@wanikani.com and ask about it.

1 Like

If anyone emails them and gets a reply, please tell us! I would love this to be a thing

I don’t know about Tofugu’s long-term plans, but this general concept will eventually become a thing.

But the challenge is that teachers (college professors especially) want to retain control of the learning. Turning it over to an outside source, even partly so, diminishes their own perceived value, whether truly so or not. To succeed as a prescribed classroom supplement, the platform would likely need to adapt to teachers’ methodology, content, and pace.

It could be done, but I suspect it would be a different (or separate) business plan.

4 Likes