In the long run, why should you memorise kanji once you've memorised associated vocabulary?

Maybe I’m missing something and I’m going off a huge misunderstanding, but I’ve been using wanikani for a few months now and I don’t see why you should memorise an individual kanji’s meaning and reading in the long run. I think it can be useful to memorise kanji to a certain point, but I think that certain point is a lot earlier than it is for vocabulary. Wouldn’t it make more sense if the burn stage for kanji was at an earlier stage such as master?

Sure, learning the on’yomi of kanji can be useful in the short term For example, in level 1, it’s useful to learn the on’yomi of the kanji 口 so that it can help you begin memorising jukugo vocabulary like 人口 or rendaku’d vocabulary like 入り口, but once you’re able to pick up memorising the vocabulary, what’s the point in continuing to memorise the on’yomi when it’s only the vocabulary readings and meanings that are used in the end? You don’t seem to need the on’yomi of an individual kanji because you memorise it through the reading of the specific vocab anyway. It’s also the same case for learning the meanings of kanji, why should you memorise an individual kanji’s meaning in the long term when you can memorise it through memorising the vocab that the kanji is in?

It just seems unnecessary, at least in my opinion.

1 Like

Because it helps you intuit the readings and potential meaning of words you’ve never encountered before?

WaniKani’s vocab barely scratches the surface of the depth and variety words you will encounter in the wild so teaching you individual kanji readings and meanings is meant to help build a foundation for once you leave the system and encounter new words in the wild.

17 Likes