I'm at level 2 right now, what resources should I study alongside WK to build my foundation?

I’m an incoming college engineering student, and I have relatives living in Japan and I would like to practice my expertise there after gaining experience. (I can probably make more in other places, but I’d rather have a family close to me). Anyways, I’d like to ask about resources I should start to study from the beginner level onward. I’m honestly lost with how things should progress. (If you’re asking, my relatives live there from a young age so they learned it “naturally”). As always, thanks.

1 Like

Start using KaniWani alongside WaniKani, it really helps keep what your learning locked in your head.

2 Likes

Talk to your relatives in Japanese?

2 Likes

As I see it, The four main points for a well-rounded mastery of the language are Grammar, Vocabulary, Kanji, and Listening/Speaking. There are a lot of great resources out there, so I can’t say exactly what’s best, but unless you want to focus specifically on improving in one area, you should put together a study plan that hits all of these.

There are many good textbooks for learning grammar, but the most commonly recommended (and my favorite) is the Genki series. It consists of two textbooks and two workbooks, and does an excellent job of teaching grammar and building up some initial vocabulary. It teaches some kanji too, but you’ll find that WaniKani quickly outstrips it. https://bunpro.jp/ is an online resource as well.

For vocabulary, Anki seems to be the popular choice, though it’s just a flashcard program. You’ll need to find or make cards to add into it. Personally, I think Genki and WaniKani provide enough vocabulary while you’re doing both, but there are popular decks with a few thousand words available for quickly building up a strong base of vocabulary.