How much studying daily to go from level 5 to level 15 within a year?

I am 318 reviews and 59 lessons into the hole. -__-

I feel pretty demotivated because I work, go to college, and have other goals I am working towards so I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew and fail a daily study goal for WaniKani. I was doing great studying for 15 minutes a day last year, but then school and other things consumed my life lolol.

Would it be possible to reach at least level 15 this year if I only do 15 minutes of WaniKani daily? (After I spend over an hour going through the missed reviews and new lessons) Or does this need to be more like 25 minutes to an hour a day of studying WaniKani?

Thank you for the help friends.

• Moo
1 Like

It’s been a while since I got a WaniKani subscription so I might not be helpful here.

Don’t overwork yourself. I know how it feels wanting to learn as fast as possible, but I also know how it feels to become burnt out by it.

Check your priorities and if you deem it possible, take a vacation from WaniKani for you to take care of the more stressful stuff out of the way.

• meow
1 Like

Thank you, your response was indeed helpful! (The meow cheered me up LOL)

Vacation might be a good idea, though I feel obligated to get rid of all of these reviews before winter vacation ends and I go back to school x__x

You started it first :grin:

Doing the reviews wouldn’t hurt, yeah.

Again, just think about it, and take a wise decision, if you end up getting frustrated because you have all these resposibilities AND the WK reviews and lessons, you’ll eventually end up thinking of your lessons and reviews as a chore instead of something you really enjoy.

1 Like

I’m not sure if it’s really quantifiable by “x minutes/day”. It might be better to think along the lines of “x lessons/day”. I do 10 lessons a day, and that gives me a review load that works out to about 30 minutes of work a day. So maybe you could do 5 lessons a day and see how that feels?