How important is reverse kanji?

Hi, I am new to Japanese language and right now dividing my language time between WaniKani and Japanese For Busy People. I see mentions of reverse Kanji apps and wonder how important it is in the current state of my Japanese journey. There is only so much time and I want to use it wisely :slight_smile: Any advice and insights on the value of learning reverse kanji in the start of learning Japanese?

Thank you!

2 Likes

I would say its pretty important. Wanikani teaches you kanji but you can see the kanji in front of you. Apps like Kamesame help you recall the kanji which can be useful with communication and further memorization. Since you are only level 5 it is almost more important to start one of the reverse kanji apps because it will be so much easier compared to later on down the road. I did not even know about the reverse kanji apps and now I have thousands of reviews to cover on there :confused:

2 Likes

I would say not important at allā€¦ and it kinda reinforces the whole ā€œjapanese to english and english to japaneseā€ thinking.

Even then, Iā€™ve seen a lot of people recommend the reverse kanji thing to when youā€™ve burned items, so youā€™d be a while from that. Thatā€™s cause if not, it can get to be too much work, and kanji and grammar definitely should take priority in that sense.

9 Likes

I think a lot of people will disagree with my opinion on this, but I believe it to be not all that important, there are better things to invest your limited time into early on such as grammar. I believe that once you get to a certain level of understanding (in terms of grammar and vocab) you can immerse yourself in the language, which is kind of the starting point of effective language learning, and everything you do prior to that is just a crutch for getting to that point.

14 Likes