How I'm studying while being very busy

Since August 4, I’ve been studying Japanese consistently for the first time in (very sadly) over 20 years of attempting to learn the language. For the last month or so I’ve been very busy with work and person stuff (vacation, buying a house, etc). I’m actually really happy that I haven’t been sidetracked yet.

Almost all of my studying right now is done on my iPhone. I use the excellent Tsurukame app on my phone to do WaniKani, and I’m using the Jalup app to help with learning grammar. I’m only using the Jalup Beginner course right now. I also try to get through at least one lesson a day via JapanesePod101.

I think the main “secret” to how I’m doing this while also being super busy is that I’m doing a huge chunk of my daily study on the bus during my commute. I ride into Seattle from Issaquah every day with about a 45 minute to hour each way commute. I find this is almost always plenty of time for morning and evening reviews, and I’m usually able to squeeze in my JapanesePod101 lesson on my afternoon ride home.

So far, I’ve been able to keep my WaniKani lesson and review counts to 0 every single day by the time I go to sleep.

I had been driving every day, and taking the bus has eliminated an ENORMOUS amount of stress from my day and has given me the gift of consistent study. I love it.

As I’m able to, I am also going through Genki I, but since the last month has been so crazy, I haven’t really had a chance to sit down and go through it in the evenings. I still think it’s a superb resource, and hope to get back to it after we’re moved into the new house.

How do you fit in the time for studying?

12 Likes

I had been using Memrise’s own Japanese 1 course, but I’ve decided to wait until I know more kanji to continue doing that.

1 Like