How do you pronounce this?

Hey! :wave:
I am just a beginner in learning Japanese. When my friend heard that I learn Japanese he gave me this and asked to translate.

I don’t think I can read everything of what is written there. For example I see the “YO” letter with two dashes for the first time and can’t find anything about it. I really want to know how to pronounce it! I guess there’s some anime language there. Also I cannot understand what the kanji below is.

Could you please help me translate it for my friend? :pray:
I would appreciate if you write pronunciation as well.
Thanks!

2 Likes

Just a bit of terminology correction, I’d call it a “kana” instead of a letter if you wanna improve your googling. And the “dashes” are called “dakuten”

Honestly, I’ve never seen dakuten on a before, but I did find this link to be interesting. It might just indicate a more nasal sound.

4 Likes

Now i’m a complete noob here so take my interpretation with a heap of salt, but I think the upper line is an onomotopoeia.
ゔ is a new kana to represent the foreign sound “vu” if i’m not mistaken. And for よ the dakuten only adds emphasis I believe. So the upper line would be something like: “Vu, see-yo!”, as if you’re breathing out and going to lift/push something heavy.
I am confident this picture is from the dumbell nankilo moteru series, maybe that helps.

1 Like

I’m not completely sure. However, I would interpret it as a muffled sound of うっせぇよ, a very casual way of saying うるさいよ. The character is being teased about their body, so they are reacting in an annoyed way.

7 Likes

Was just gonna say the same thing. I also thought of うっせぇ・うるさい right away.

7 Likes

I second (third?) うるさい being slurred.

I think there something about mochi in pantsu in the next bit, but I can’t make out the kanji…

1 Like

I can read the pantsu ni omochi, but do you perhaps also know what it means? Is a rice cake in your pants like saying you’re fat?

I’m guessing it’s パンツにおもち乗せてんのかーい