How do I know if two Kanji next to each other form one word or are seperated?

Now that I started learning Kanji and Vocabulary, I began wondering how to tell apart when two Kanji are being used to form one Word or when their singular meanings are used.
For example: If I read “女王” in a sentence how do I know that it is used for the word “queen” and not the two words “woman” and “king”?
This maybe isnt the best example, because “queen” and “woman king” are fairly similar in meaning, but I imagine that there could be cases where it isnt so easy.
Is there a grammatical rule or syntax that indicates which it is?
And how do I usually know when one word ends and another one starts?

Thanks in advance for any answers!

2 Likes

The same way you’d know in English, using grammar. Most of the time there will be particles in between the words, or it will be clear from context. I haven’t really encountered any scenario yet where I was unable to determine which word was being used.

4 Likes

I’m still a noob, so I would wait for someone who knows a bit more for a better answer, but anyway:

Japanese uses a lot of particles, so, if you want to say woman and king, it would be 女と王

I haven’t seen in books any place where it can be confusing, yet. But when speaking, or in mangas, sometimes the particles are omitted, but it’s usually easy to determine when a word ends and when the next starts. Sometimes it doesn’t even matter, you’ll understand the sentence either way.

Just keep going and it will come just naturally.

By the way, are you learning with other tools or just using Wani Kani? This is a great tool to learn kanji, but you have to learn everything else in another place. There is a lot of information about it here in the forum.

1 Like