Help with n4-3 resources

Hey all, I just need some help finding immersion that I can use on a daily basis. I have school, sports and another language so I don’t get any more than an hour a day besides weekends. Is there any sort of podcast, manga anything that I can quickly just sit down and read/listen. I am fully confident with n5 grammar and more than halfway through n4 with a bit of n3 knowledge as well from just reading books, so something around that level. But my kanji isnt at the same level as my grammar, as u can see im only like level 5

3 Likes

You could probably try reading some of the material read by the absolute beginner book club. Most of the manga and books read by that club have furigana on most kanji, so you should be able to join in even if you don’t know a lot of kanji. You should also be familiar with a lot of the grammar, as most of it is usually around N5-N4. Reading one or two chapters within an hour should be doable, and your pace will probably pick up the more familiar you get with reading.

There are also quite a few manga that have furigana everywhere. So you could also just start reading one of those. I recently read through the first few volumes of 葬送(そうそう)のフリーレン for example, which also had furigana everywhere and most grammar points were around N4-N3 level. A significant number of shounen manga have furigana on nearly all kanji, so you could just pick up one of those and start reading through them as well. I remember the demon slayer manga being around the same level for example.

But in short, not knowing kanji isn’t too big of a problem. There are quite a few materials out there with a lot of furigana. So as long as you’re comfortable with the grammar, you could just pick up something with furigana and read that as practice. I’d advice picking something you actually like to read, that way you’re more likely to stick with it. :grin:

2 Likes