Help with a Japanese letter (full of mistakes)

I’m currently studying Japanese at university. Due to personal circumstances our teacher returns to Japan in about two weeks. Our course wants to write a letter and get some little gifts for her. Now the problems: our Japanese is still very very very beginner. ;; This was problematic until I had a fantastic idea! Ask the Wanikani community! :smiley:

Because I’m kind of the driving force in my course (who recognizes this from university or projects?) I had to write the letter myself and we have a week until our last session. I would love to express everything with Genki I grammar/our Japanese level to make it personal but still without mistakes.

This is the idea:
To/Dear (insert our teacher’s name),

Before you return to Japan, thank you very much.
The last four semesters were extremely great and fun.
It was hard at times, but we learned a lot, met many new friends and overall had a great time. This was the case because you are a great teacher.
We will remember you. Have a nice time in Japan.
Hopefully we’ll meet again.

Take care,
(our names)

This is my crappy first attempt with 100 mistakes:
(insert our teacher’s name)へ

前に友香先生は日本に帰ります、ほんとうありがとうごやいます。
四のせんがっきかんはすごく楽しくて、よかったです。
時々クラスはたいへんでしたよ。でも、私たちはたくさん勉強して、新しい友達にあいて、すてきな時間がでした。友香先生はしんせつでいい人だから、クラスの時間はけっこうでした。
私たちはよく友香先生に思い出します。日本でとてもいいじかんがあってください。
またあいましょうか!

気をつけて、
(our names)

It’s not the greatest letter of all time but it’s sincere, so please help me out here!!

5 Likes

Soo… I don’t want to put words into your mouth, and honestly don’t remember much of what is actually covered in Genki 1. Therefore, I just point out some mistakes that immediately jump out to me:

Mae is used for something that has already happened (before). Mas is not used to connect sentences.

Honto is used adverbially here, so you have to use it with に. You misspelled the last word.

She will probably understand, but not how you would say that in Japanese.