Getting past that early "in the dark" hump

I’m about three weeks into studying Japanese in earnest (though, given I only have so much extra free time each day, I can’t devote as much time as I’d like) and despite having my kana down and spending some time with Memrise, Pimsleur, and now LingoDeer, and getting through Level 3 on WaniKani; and despite a lot of interest and motivation and years of enjoying and being fascinated by Japanese art and culture, I’m still, unsurprisingly, very much “in the dark.” Japanese as a language still feels almost entirely opaque to me. It’s frustrating but I try to remind myself this isn’t like when I started learning Spanish, where it being a Romance language leaves a lot of sign posts for an English speaker. With Japanese … I don’t have my sign posts, or little lights in the dark.

I knew tackling Japanese would be a lot tougher than Spanish, but I guess I could use some encouragement. For those who broke past this early stage of everything still feeling so cryptic, how long did it take to start feeling some ease? How did you push through in the meantime?

It’s funny, I feel like I’m falling in love with this thing (Japanese) that is still almost entirely a mystery to me. I go to sleep at night with Japanese syllables flying around my brain, like its babbling to myself, but right now, it’s almost all darkness. And yet, I’m very motivated. And frustrated. All at the same time.

Others were here too, right? :smiley:

15 Likes

One thing that I’ve found helps is to keep going until you recognize something. I started reading Beastars (in English) a couple of months after starting WK, and when I was finally able to make meaning out of simple phrases written in kana with maybe some simple kanji, I was hooked. That first jolt of adrenaline you get when you read/hear something and understand it is incomparable to any other feeling I’ve felt while learning Japanese.

8 Likes