Fellow college students, how do you balance your classes and self-studying?

Hello, I’m a computer engineering student that’s currently taking two classes:

• Calculus II
  • Intro to Engineering

When I first became interested in Japanese I envisioned myself treating it as a “side quest” of sorts. Trouble is, now I’m more eager to learn than ever before so I view both STEM and Japanese to be of equal importance to me! Both of these things are my two core life goals and I really don’t want to sacrifice one for the other. What study tips would you recommend so I can achieve this goal? Is anyone else in the same boat as me?

Thanks!

8 Likes

not a college student anymore, but working in retail from 8am to 6pm all I can say is in 3 years I used wanikani, it was a strong dedication because I was really tired when getting home from work but I still could dedicate 45min to wanikani and 40min to bunpro (which I used for 1 year) plus immersion watching 2 anime episodes with JP subtitles at least 3 days a week. Plus nhk easy articles (15-20min)

So basically outside japanese studies I was not doing much else in 3 years, since last december I feel free now to do other stuff like play videogames, watch more tv shows etc.

But it all depends, many people here just pay lifetime so they take all the time in the world. I was paying yearly exactly to have the motivation.

8 Likes

You may have to make some tough decisions about how you allocate your time and effort. That may mean focusing on your classes in order to succeed in school. Personally, I put my Japanese studies on hold for a few years. I wish I’d kept going with just a little bit each day, though, so that’s what I’d recommend if you ever feel like you can’t keep up; just make it a habit and do five minutes a day no matter what.