Error with synonyms?

Why doesn’t this work? Am I doing something wrong?

Two reasons, really.

First, this is a radical (for helping learn kanji), rather than a kanji or a vocabulary word. So Wanikani has (arbitrarily but usefully) declared it a frog. If you’re going to use WK’s mnemonics, you have to know “frog,” as a stepping stone to help you learn other kanji.

Second, the meaning of the kanji is (according to WK, I’m no expert) “support.” That’s the meaning of the actual kanji—not something arbitrarily invented by WK.

When you put this together with another kanji, the combination can mean “branch office” or whatever, yes. But you can’t therefore presume that the kanji itself means branch. I wouldn’t guess, for example, that you could use it for a tree branch, or a branch of the family, or any other kind of branch other than a branch office.

I wouldn’t guess that this kanji means branch in any sense except that a secondary office can be called a branch office. In English, we are looking at a secondary office as a branch of the tree of the main office; in Japanese, we (apparently) look more abstractly at the second office as supporting the first. Two different names, with slightly different ideas in the mind.

I don’t know any of this for certain; I’m still in the early stages of my Japanese study. But I know from my study of other languages that you have to be very careful with extending the use of a particular vocabulary word to other contexts.

Did you add “branch, support, sustain” as one monolithic synonym? Add them one at a time.

10 Likes

And, ha! My ignorance is exposed. The word can indeed mean branch in other contexts!

I stand by my hesitation to extend meanings, but in this case it apparently works.

This. You need to add each of those words as their own synonym entry. Since you didn’t enter “branch, support, sustain” as an answer, it didn’t recognize it as an answer. The same is true when WK teaches you multiple meanings to a word or kanji.