Enhance WaniKani to be a PWA

I’m sure this has already been spoken about within Tofugu.

Please consider adding Progressive Web App (PWA) enhancements to WaniKani.

Background
I’ve been pleading for an offline version of WK for around four years. The main reason for this is that my main time to use WK is during my commute which has very poor signal.

I can understand what a massive undertaking making WK offline would have been back in 2012.

Proposal
Please add webworkers service workers to cache files, and serve offline requests, as if it were never offline.

6 Likes

If this has been discussed in Tofugu, then what makes you think the answer from WK/Tofugu developers would be different here?

Server-rendered RoR stack to a full client-side PWA would still be a massive undertaking. They’d practically have to rewrite the whole thing. Caching files does not make an offline app; local storage != WK’s server setup. You could save all the vocab offline easily - but all the functionality would have to be completely changed to operate locally & offline.

2 Likes

@plantron I had a quick search in the community, but couldn’t find anything to do with PWAs, but I can’t be certain, hence the disclaimer.

Caching files does not make an offline app;

I agree.

local storage != WK’s server setup.

I also agree.

@Subversity When I mentioned PWAs I was referring to the use of web workers (not localStorage) which allow a developer to keep the current server setup, but allow scripts, assets, data (like JSON) to be saved offline for access.

It would still be a significant upgrade, but with Samsung and other platforms promoting their use, I think it would be a good investment for WK.

I suppose they could save a single (currently pending) review session for
offline completion and delayed submission. They’d have to do all sorts of
resolution like backdating the SRS scheduling to the item’s completion time
rather than its submission time etc.