Effective beginner routine?

This is more of a question, I just started using Wanikani and Kitsun (Wanikani for kanji, and kitsun for vocab) I might also start using Bunpro for my grammar where I would also put my genki 1 book into use. Keep in mind I am a complete beginner and I was wondering if a Wanikani + Kitsun + Bunpro would be fine for my studies, for now at least. I will also use my Japanese manga and NHK News for my reading. Does this sound like good resources for a complete beginner? Please feel free to share your opinion on this routine, or recommend some extra resources/alternative resources.

Thank you in advance!

3 Likes

I would start with 1 first, even 2 is hard, all three is very difficult. As a complete beginner, I wouldn’t worry about reading just yet either.

2 Likes

There are 2 important things.

1. Never take a day off
  2. Add at least 5 items every day, and don’t overwhelm yourself.

(Note there are about 10000 items, so 10 items per day would take about 3 years)

3 Likes

Sounds like a solid plan to me! Just be aware that you will probably struggle with reading quite a bit in the beginning; this is normal, and if it’s too frustrating, then just defer it and check it out one or two months later. If you use something like Genki I, you will also have texts in there that are made for your level so you can practice reading with them for the first few chapters. Other than that, happy studies! :blush:

3 Likes

I’m doing a similar routine, just with Anki instead of Kitsun, and it’s working really well. Using Genki Exercises - 2nd Edition | Genki Study Resources for Genki exercises has been a big help. Sometimes Genki explains grammar in a confusing way, so if I need more clarification, I’ll use Tae Kim’s grammar guide.

Some passive listening might be helpful, even if its just a few minutes. You could do it while going on a walk, or doing chores around the house.