DrDru's lab - Comprehensible Input from Day 1 : Part 6 released (2023-02-24)

Hi everyone,

I have been learning Japanese for a bit more than 3 years now. I started with Duolingo and after a few weeks/months I felt ready to read real Japanese (in hindsight, I reckon that was pretty naive…). The problem : I could not find anything that was easy, free, and fun.

Since then I have worked on producing such content myself and the result is here.
There is about 30 pages of very simple content that I personally find fun and pleasant.

Words are introduced using Emojis and others are derived from the context by the reader. They are then repeated as often as possible to act like a natural SRS. The idea is that if you keep reading, you assimilate easy words and learn new ones on the way without having to stop to check the meaning of a word in a dictionary.

I hope you like my project. Any feedback is more than welcome.

(As I mention at the beginning, I am still learning Japanese so the Japanese is not 100% perfect but I improve it over time ).

EDIT : the first 3 parts have now been proofread by a native speaker.

EDIT2 : I have written a very cool pixel art illustrated N4 Graded reader. See this post

EDIT (2022-06-28) : my new story is here The Tile World Chronicles

EDIT (2022-09-07) : my new story is here The Tile World Chronicles

EDIT (2022-09-29) : POLL POLL POLL :wink:

EDIT (2022-12-21) : part 5 is ready here

92 Likes

What a good idea!!

Nooooooo, hahaha

12 Likes

It gets worse :wink:

ティラノサウルス
ねこべる

7 Likes

I’m crying hahah

2 Likes

Good stuff. I did the Rosetta Stone course a few years back and I honestly think I would have just preferred to go through this instead.

ps. obvious comment but you should add navigation :slight_smile:

4 Likes

The colours and pictures are so beautifully chosen, Drdru. I will enjoy looking at that. (I already enjoyed the cat getting its comeupance). Thank you for sharing the link!

3 Likes

I love the visual design! :t_rex: