Do the Wanikani team hate machine learning?

This is NOT a rant. I recently committed to Wanikani after joining last November. I tried it, moved on but couldn’t find anything better or anything that even came close. So I am committing to WK. However…

I do find it somewhat infuriating when a kanji I know very well but just mess up on spelling, I get sent straight back to the beginning for that kanji or vocab. eg saying one people instead of one person, or writing the reading instead of the meaning (and hitting enter before checking), etc.

Hasn’t the WK team heard of machine learning? I work in the field and there are many algorithms that can determine if you made a genuine mistake or you really haven’t learnt a kanji or piece of vocab.

Sorry its petty, but its happened to me on several occaisions now and I should have progressed to the next level if it wasn’t for a couple of minor mistakes stopping me from reaching 90% even though I have fully learned the items.

Andrew

Yes. They hate machine learning and ice cream and everything that is good. It truly is a terrifying sight.

Maybe, you know, answering correctly is part of learning.

Install the ignore script, that’ll solve most of your problems

They do use an algorithm that will mark things correct even if you make a typo, assuming it’s close enough to the correct spelling (I’ve completely butchered the spelling of words before from typing too quickly but still gotten it marked correct, I believe the more letters in the correct answer, the more leniency from the algorithm)

I recommend installing the Override Script, you can ignore incorrect responses and be given the opportunity to put the correct answer/spelling next time around without affecting the SRS for that item

Also, you can include synonyms for some words in your reviews if you want, there are lots of ways to make your experience here on WK work for you! :crabigator: