Do I have hope of passing a high school entrance exam in japanese

I’m currently a freshman in highschool (US) and have been looking into exchange programs to japan considering as soon as next year, but the problem is that I 1. need credits to graduate and 2. would want to find a program that is reasonably priced. I have looked into the rotary exchange, but they don’t do japan where I live, and I have also met with some people from commercial exchanges, but they’re often more expensive and don’t have options for credits.

(if anyone has been on a highschool exchange, if you have any ideas on companies to look into, it would totally help me out searching for this)

Because of this, my mom came up with the idea to directly enroll in a Japanese school, but before I look into how I would even do that, I want to know if I have any chance of passing these exams.

I would describe my japanese level as intermediate/n3 maybe just starting to get into more advanced subject material, but as you can see by my level, my kanji knowledge is pretty behind and more like n4. I have no doubt that I would be able to pass the exam if it were in english, I’m a top student, but I don’t really want to try to get into international schools or english programs as I feel like it would defeat the point.
I’ve very briefly looked at a couple of sample problems, and it seems pretty kanji heavy, I’m wondering how much I would have to study and what level would I need to get to in order to pass.

Also maybe if you have recommendations on what kind of vocab to study, but I assume it would mostly be math and science language right?

And if I do pass I guess the real question is if I have any hope of passing my classes lol

1 Like

I’m not going to be super helpful, but I believe it’s possible to find examples of entrance exams online. It looks like the public school exams depend on the prefecture, but I can find plenty of examples from a quick search.