Considering level pause, seeking input

I’ve effectively met my goal of achieving level 27 by the first year. However, as of late my progress has slowed down significantly. (TL;DR note: I will mark *** where I stop chatting shit about my life and get on with the main point lmao)

The dips you can see earlier on were times when my studies became more intense. The later dips have been during a complete lack of motivation. Even now I have all of the lessons from level 28 pending.

I am considering taking a “level” break in which I shall continue to complete all of my reviews for everything I’ve studied so far, but will not take on any more lessons (aside from the stragglers of level 27). For the next two years I will be able to study the Genki I and Genki II books in a classroom setting, in addition to my major at college (which is nothing to do with Japanese).

Presently I am able to read the majority of the kanji in the example sentences, however, I have little to no knowledge of the hiragana words.

*** therefore I am considering halting my Kanji “intake” in order to catch up on the grammar whilst continuing to do my reviews. I am concerned that my ability to either come back to Wanikani lessons, or my current ability at learning new Kanji, will be impacted by this undefined break.

I would appreciate it if anyone who’s done something similar could comment, and any advice people might have to offer.

1 Like

That seems like a good idea. After I became level 29 I had to quit WK for a while, then for a long time I didn’t bother to start again. What I should have done is continue my reviews and maybe continued from level 29 about a year ago. Instead I waited like two and a half years without doing reviews, so I reset back to level 20. After cleaning up my reviews I started to level again.