Another Duolingo question >_<

So, yeah, placement test, and in the questions where they ask me to translate English to Japanese with word banks, I can do the translation if I listen to what each word with Kanji sounds like, even though I don’t know the Kanji in itself. Is it bad if I keep doing so? Am I cheating the system? I’m sowwy if I’m spamming >_<

You should post the question on your other thread, as to not spam, but I don’t think it’s much of a problem.
You’re not cheating the system, since the system provides you with the sound and is probably looking for vocabulary knowledge instead of kanji knowledge, otherwise you couldn’t bypass it.

On the other hand, you should look into kanji; perhaps not study it yet if you don’t feel comfortable, but it seems that you don’t even know what kanji is, which is just another (the more common and convenient) writing system for Japanese.

I knew a lot of vocabulary and even some grammar before I started studying kanji, but you basically won’t be able to do any reading without it. (Which is fine if that’s not what you want yet.)

I’m still new to this format and have trouble going around, so please excuse me this one time :sweat_smile:
And thanks, I was getting worried if I was doing something wrong, or if my lessons would be flooded with alien Kanji just cuz I could answer questions with Kanji rn. And of course I know what Kanji is, that’s exactly why I’m here, is it not? I may be dumb, but not that dumb :rofl:

Yeah, I know some vocab and grammar as well, and can basically make my own sentences if I know certain words. My vocab is not as vast, and I need to know the script, at the least, if I have to qualify even as a beginner, hence why I’m here!

1 Like

Sorry for assuming. :joy:
I mostly thought that because of how you said things on your other post:

Now I don’t know much bout anything other than Hiragana or Katakana so am assuming it’s Kanji or whatnot

Good luck on your learning. :slight_smile:

1 Like