[Android] Smouldering Durtles (v1.1.1) - native app with offline lessons and reviews, plus themes and script-like features!

:warning: This is a third-party script/app and is not created by the WaniKani team. By using this, you understand that it can stop working at any time or be discontinued indefinitely.

ic_launcher_round_foreground

The Story

When Tofugu added kana-only vocabulary to WaniKani, lots of users were justifiably concerned that this change would cause issues with their favourite app, Flaming Durtles.

The original application had been unspported for a while, and though I’m not an Android developer, or even an Android user, I know how many members of the community love all that the app offered and so wanted to do what I could to try and keep it functional.

Why Smouldering Durtles?

The original developer of Flaming Durtles released it open source, but stipulated that nobody reuse the name. I fully respected that, but wanted to keep things as close as possible; so I chose Smouldering Durtles to highlight that the fire hasn’t burnt out.

What’s The Difference?

• Fully baked-in support for the most recent changes to WaniKani
  • Updated to support the newest versions of Android
  • Regular new feature updates and improvements
  • Otherwise? Nothing, it’s the same app you know and love!

What Are The Features?

• Feature rich dashboard with a 24hr timline for forecasting
  • User-script style features like reordering, and back-to-back modes
  • Typo-protection support for undoing or skipping items
  • Granular filtering and a range of advanced options
  • Fully customisable UI colours and a range of themes
  • Lots more, like anki mode, pitch info, and self-study quizing!

How Do I Install it?

play_store-01 Untitled-2

Current Play Store Version: v1.1.0
Current GitHub Version: v1.1.1
(See changelog below for previous versions)

Get a Play Protect or Unknown Source warning?