Am I the only one who has this problem and if not how do I fix it?

so, I’m a 15 year old high school typical kid that wants to learn Japanese and loves the culture cars and etc so I started learning Japanese like 1 month ago and I have gotten down the hiragana and somewhat of the katakana and as of right now I’m trying to get to learn some kanji and at first level 1 was easy and stuff but when I got to actually learning my first kanji by reading the nemonics and stuff like that but its like right after I read them I tend to forget what I read and what the onyomi was and overall it ends up making me very frustrated and annoyed because I’m like I just read over it and still can remember it and blah blah blah. but what I really want to know is that is there any advice y’all can give me and is this normal for people who just started kanji or is it just me?

4 Likes

You’re very much flexing muscles here that didn’t even exist yet or you didn’t know that they were there. It will take a bit to get used to the whole thing of kanji and onyomi and kunyomi and funny lil characters and stuff. Especially if you’ve never in your life had the need to actually learn how you can learn, which at 15 is quite likely. Swallow the discomfort you are getting now and eventually it will be way easier.

18 Likes

Taking a look at vocabularies bearing the same Kanji, and it might be easier to realize what’s this is all about – the limitation of Kanji readings.

If there is Okurigana, or supposedly one, there might be issues.

Also, it might not be necessary to distinguish Kunyomi and Onyomi. In addition, some Kanji readings and meanings might not be listed. Just prioritize vocabularies first.

1 Like

Don’t try to especially learn which readings are on/kunyomi, it will come mostly naturally anyway. Keep going and work with the language, don’t just do SRS and in time things will just stick.