Advice for Going Into College on Wanikani

Hey guys,
So I just graduated High School and am heading into college soon. I’ve been doing WK for a few months and (surprisingly) is basically the only thing I can consistently do (other than go to work) every single day. I will be taking a lot of credits (about 13) with part time work and a couple of extra curricular activities. Four of those credits are French. (I wanted Japanese but they didn’t have a course). Anyways, I was looking for advice from people who have done WK during college possibly while studying other languages. How did you avoid burnout? How did you balance all your activities and priorities?

Thanks much

4 Likes

just set aside some time everyday, and spread out your lessons. do a couple reviews in dead time: transit, eating, etc. I made it through in about a year this way, in college.

10 Likes

I feel with you!
I believe our situations are fairly similar and I’ve been stressed out lately, concerned I’ve taken on too much. But I try to remember that I really enjoy the entire journey of learning Japanese, including WK, and that I can’t see my daily reviews and lessons as a chore, but rather as a recreational treat. You could always slow down, do fewer lessons, or even neglecting lessons at all in really busy periods (I don’t recommend neglecting reviews) and instead immerse in language learning in other ways. Like anime or manga.

Good luck in college! :smiley:

3 Likes