A Question Concerning Vocab Written Only in Hiragana

Hi guys and gals! I’m relatively new here, but I’ve decided to take the Wanikani plunge after being impressed by how much I learned in the first three levels. Now, I know that Wanikani is a great resource to learn Japanese vocabulary, but it’s kinda limited to words that utilize kanji. Despite the fact that I’m a beginner, I am aware that many Japanese words are written in hiragana only. Does anyone have any kind of resource(s) that details hiragana-only vocabulary words? Thanks!

5 Likes

There’s the Torii app which has a kana-only mode, it’s free and available on desktop and android

5 Likes

I hope you find something useful! I’ve been searching for a resource like that too, although from my (limited) understanding, there are very few words that are only written in hiragana. Most words that are like that actually have kanji, but the kanji is rare/difficult/archaic so it is more often written in hiragana.

Many adverbs (particularly onomatopoeic and mimetic words) have no kanji. In some cases, they may have etymology that is based on a kanji word in the past, but others have no such etymology.

Another area of words that often have no kanji are conjunctions, though the proportion that do have kanji is higher than with adverbs.

Loanwords and wasei-eigo are typically written in katakana, and have no kanji.

This is, I think, an underappreciated area of study. Many people think that they get all these loanwords for free because they speak English, but using them properly does take study.

For instance, メリット and 長所 have almost the same definition if you look them up in a dictionary.

But メリット cannot be used to describe the personalities of people. You won’t glean that from a dictionary entry.

プラス on the other hand, can be used for people’s personalities.

5 Likes

Ive been using https://kitsun.io for my genki study, it works alot like wanikani but there are user made decks.