Ringotan - Free app for learning how to WRITE kanji

I’ve spent the last few months writing an app for learning how to write Kanji. I’m making it available for free to early adopters.

Website - Download (Android) - iOS

FAQ
- Is is free to keep?
If you download it now, yes, you keep the full version for free forever. However, I plan to make it paid for non-early-adopters later.

- Does it support Textbooks/Wanikani/etc?
Yes, it supports various textbooks, as well as Wanikani.

- Is there an iOS version?
As of July 2022, yes!

75 Likes

Oh wow, that looks good! I’ll try it out.

3 Likes

The app looks good! I tried it and got stuck at 氷. The app did not let me continue even after I have drawn the kanji correctly. I was able to just mark it correct, and then I was able to get to other kanji, but I think that’s a bug.

3 Likes

Did you not get the little error arrow?

Btw, I am an absolute kanji writing noob, so I had to reset and put my level back to 0 instead of 60. I was a bit confused at the start, so it might be good to indicate that by selecting a certain WK level, you exclude the kanji you’ve learned in Wanikani from the lessons.

3 Likes

The app crash when I clic on settings, or when I try to trace something.

3 Likes

I didn’t get any error message.

2 Likes

I’m not sure why I wrote error, I meant arrow.

For me it’s working perfectly fine btw.

2 Likes

I’m unable to reproduce this. It may be a legitimate bug, or I may have made the UI confusing. Would you mind posting here with as many details as possible? Particularly, does it happen every time 氷 comes up?

They do show up as reviews, but not all at once, I didn’t want to overwhelm the user right off the bat. My assumption was that the user will know how to draw most of the kanji they know - any that they can’t will be quickly discovered by the SRS algorithm when they come up for review. Or they can be marked as “unknown” to learn them from scratch.